• MPS Performing Arts

    Mapleton Performing Arts is Online!

    Mapleton Performing Arts is joining the district in continuing online learning! For more information about your classes, lessons, assignments, and what online platform your teacher is using, please contact your Performing Arts teacher for guidance.

     

    Band Contact Information - 

    Microsoft Teams Kirby Dillmann, Beginning Band and Zero Hour 6th Grade Band | dillmank@mapleton.us 

     Microsoft Teams Don Walker, Beginning Band and Zero Hour 7th/8th Grade Zero Hour Band | walkerd@mapleton.us

     Microsoft Teams Ben Weaver, Beginning Band and Zero Hour HS Band | weaverb@mapleton.us

     

    Orchestra Contact Information

    Google Classroom Sarah Jylkka, Beginning Orchestra and Zero Hour 6th Grade Sinfonia Orchestra | jylkkas@mapleton.us

    Google Classroom Caroline Meyer, Beginning Orchestra and Zero Hour 7th/8th Grade Concert Orchestra | meyerc@mapleton.us

    Google Classroom Jennifer Chaplin, Beginning Orchestra and Zero Hour HS Orchestra | chaplinj@mapleton.us

     

    Choir Contact Information

    Microsoft Teams Hannah Skalbeck, Beginning Choir and Zero Hour 6th Grade Choir | skalbeckh@mapleton.us

     Google Classroom Jessi Short, Beginning Choir and Zero Hour 7th/8th Grade Choir | shortj@mapleton.us

     Google Classroom Missy Weaver, Beginning Choir and Zero Hour HS Choir | weaverm@mapleton.us

     

     


    All K-6 and K-8 schools in Mapleton have the opportunity to offer general music to their students. 

    The Orff approach has historically been a common approach used to teach general music to K-5th grade students in Mapleton, and throughout the country. The Orff approach is a way of teaching students about music that engages their mind and body through a mixture of singing, chanting, movement, drama, and playing of percussion instruments. Improvisation, composition and a child's natural sense of play are encouraged. 

    General music teachers in our schools are supported by our Performing Arts Department through mentoring, collaboration and professional development opportunities.  

    Mapleton students in grades 5-12 are invited to participate in the District band, orchestra or choir. As a member of the Mapleton's Performing Arts team, you have the opportunity to participate in exciting performances and competitions all year.

    Click here to see the Performing Arts calendar of events. 

     

    Zero Hour

    Zero hour time: 7:15 - 8:05 a.m.

    Zero hour location: Performing Arts wing at the Skyview Campus, 8990 York St., Thornton, 80229

    Transportation is provided, please call 303.853.1024 for transportation information.

     

Contact Information

  • Robin Cutting
    Director, Performing Arts 
    303.853.1223, CuttingR@mapleton.us

    Robert Hudgins
    Assistant Director, Administrative TOSA
    303.853.1205, HudginsR@mapleton.us

     

    8990 York St. Thornton, CO 80229